HOMESCHOOL: HIGH SCHOOL (AGES 14+)

SPRING 2020 COURSES: Students can register for full courses or as individual labs.

HIGH SCHOOL GENETICS
Tuesdays, January 28-April 28 (no class Feb 18, Mar 24, Apr 7 or Apr 21; 10 weeks)
12:00pm-1:30pm
Ages 14+
Students learn the basics of genetics and inheritance, including DNA structure and function, cellular processes involving DNA, how DNA influences physical traits of individuals and why genetic diversity is important in populations. Hands-on activities are integrated into each lab. All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    Intro to Genetics – Tuesday, January 28
•    Directionality of DNA – Tuesday, February 4
•    DNA Replication and Mutation – Tuesday, February 11
•    Mitosis and Meiosis – Tuesday, February 25
•    Codons and Translation – Tuesday, March 3
•    Genotypes and Phenotypes – Tuesday, March 10
•    Laws of Inheritance – Tuesday, March 17
•    Genetic Modification – Tuesday, March 31
•    Population Genetics – Tuesday, April 14
•    Conservation Genetics – Tuesday, April 28

Instructor: Tina Oresteen, BSc
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $225 OR $25/lab 
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER

HIGH SCHOOL PHYSICS LABS
Thursdays, January 30-April 30 (no class Feb 20, Mar 12 Apr 9; 11 weeks)
12:00pm-1:30pm
Ages 14+
Students conduct labs related to matter, motion, changes through space and time, energy, and force to investigate fundamental concepts in physics. Students explore physics in theoretical and real-life situations to better understand relationships within this field of science. Note: Math equations will be used to illustrate relationships among variables in these labs. All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    Velocity and Acceleration – Thursday, January 30
•    Motion in Dimensions – Thursday, February 6
•    Laws of Motion Lab – Thursday, February 13
•    Calculating Force – Thursday, February 27
•    Collisions – Thursday, March 5
•    Kinetic and Potential Energy – Thursday, March 19
•    Mass and Gravity Lab – Thursday, March 26
•    Properties of Matter – Thursday, April 2
•    Oscillations – Thursday, April 16
•    Thermodynamics – Thursday, April 23
•    Electric and Magnetic Fields – Thursday, April 30

Instructor: Candra Umunna, BSc
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $250 OR $25/lab 
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER


SCIENCE OF SMALL ENGINES (mini course)
Wednesdays, Jan 29-Feb 12 (3 weeks)
9:30am-11:30am
Ages 13+
Students learn the external and internal parts of a small engine, the science of engine fluids, and safety precautions when using engines and tools as they disassemble a lawn mower to investigate the mechanics of how small engines work.
Instructor: Harrison Fowler
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $80 

10% off sibling discount

REGISTER


HIGH SCHOOL SCIENCE LABS
Fridays - 9:30am-11:30am
Ages 14+

All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.

•    Chemical Changes - Friday, Feb 28

•    Sublimation, Deposition & Decomposition Reactions - Friday, Mar 27

•    Paper Circuits and Memory Wire - Friday, Apr 3

•    Frog Dissection - Friday, Apr 17

•    Fetal Pig Dissection (two weeks) - Friday, Apr 24 and May 1

Instructor: Tonya Shearer, PhD 
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
$30/lab ($60/Fetal Pig Dissection)
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER


ANIMAL HUSBANDRY INTENSIVE (Animal Care)
Tuesday-Thursday, February 18-20
9:30am-12:00pm
Ages 12+
Students learn the biology and anatomy of our resident mascots (red ear sliders, hermit crab, anemone fish, sea stars and urchins, axolotl, and more) and microorganism cultures (algae, protozoa and planktonic species), how to care for each species and maintain their habitats.

Students successfully completing the course have the opportunity to apply as a volunteer for a husbandry internship/independent project during the summer and fall semesters.
Instructors: Tonya Shearer, PhD, Tina Oresteen, BSc
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $100

10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER