HOMESCHOOL: MIDDLE SCHOOL (AGES 11-14)

SPRING 2020 COURSES: Students can register for full courses or as individual labs.

COMPUTER SCIENCE
Mondays, January 27-April 27 (no class Feb 17, Apr 6; 12 weeks)
9:30am-11:00am
Ages 11-14
Computer scientists use computers, computational thinking, and technology to answer questions and solve problems. In this introductory course, students learn about computer languages and functions, solve problems through programming, and interact with data to understand the theory, development and application of digital information. Students should bring a laptop or device to some workshops (see syllabus). All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    Algorithms and Binary Code – Monday, January 27
•    Complex Coding Languages – Monday, February 3
•    Hacking and Cybersecurity – Monday, February 10
•    Electronics Deconstruction & Soldering – Monday, February 24
•    Creating a Database – Monday, March 2
•    Data Analysis and Presentation – Monday, March 9
•    Hour of Code – Monday, March 16
•    Modified Javascript – Monday, March 23
•    Modified Javascript – Monday, March 30
•    Robot Programming – Monday, April 13
•    Robot Programming – Monday, April 20
•    Robot Programming – Monday, April 27

Instructor: Candra Umunna, BSc
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $275 OR $25/lab 
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER

MIDDLE SCHOOL CHEMISTRY
Mondays, January 27-April 27 (no class Feb 17, Apr 6; 12 weeks)
11:15am-12:45pm
Ages 11-14
Basic chemistry principles involving atoms, elements and compounds are taught by building models, using the periodic table of elements, and conducting lab experiments. We look at properties of liquids and solids, investigate acid-base reactions, experiment with polymers, and more. All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    Molecular Arrangements – Monday, January 27
•    Atomic Structure – Monday, February 3
•    The Periodic Table – Monday, February 10
•    Noble Gases – Monday, February 24
•    Ionic and Covalent Bonds – Monday, March 2
•    Properties of Water – Monday, March 9
•    Solubility – Monday, March 16
•    Chemical Reactions – Monday, March 23
•    Reaction Rates – Monday, March 30
•    Chemical Equations – Monday, April 13
•    Acids and Bases – Monday, April 20
•    Non-Newtonian Fluids – Monday, April 27

Instructor: Tonya Shearer, PhD
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $275 OR $25/lab 
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER

SCIENCE OF SCUBA AND SHARKS
Tuesdays, January 28-April 28 (no class Feb 18, Mar 24, Apr 7 or Apr 21; 10 weeks)
9:30am-11:00am
Ages 11-14
Explore the science of living underwater. Students learn the physics and biology of living in the ocean environment, and study some of our favorite marine creatures – sharks!  All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    Density and Diving – Tuesday, January 28
•    Pressure and Volume – Tuesday, February 4
•    Dive Physiology – Tuesday, February 11
•    Light and Sound Underwater – Tuesday, February 25
•    Ocean Environments – Tuesday, March 3
•    Oceanography Basics – Tuesday, March 10
•    Shark Diversity – Tuesday, March 17
•    Shark Anatomy – Tuesday, March 31
•    Shark Research – Tuesday, April 14
•    Other Marine Vertebrates – Tuesday, April 28

Instructor: Becky van Rooyen BSc, Master Scuba Instructor
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $225 OR $25/lab 
10% off sibling discount available 
REGISTER


ANIMAL HUSBANDRY INTENSIVE (Animal Care)
Tuesday-Thursday, February 18-20
9:30am-12:00pm
Ages 12+
Students learn the biology and anatomy of our resident mascots (red ear sliders, hermit crab, anemone fish, sea stars and urchins, axolotl, and more) and microorganism cultures (algae, protozoa and planktonic species), how to care for each species and maintain their habitats.

Students successfully completing the course have the opportunity to apply as a volunteer for a husbandry internship/independent project during the summer and fall semesters.
Instructors: Tonya Shearer, PhD, Tina Oresteen, BSc
Location: STEM Lab (suite 21)
Course fee: $100

10% off sibling discount available 

REGISTER