Homeschool: young elementary (ages 6-8)

SPRING 2020 COURSES: Students can register for full courses or as individual labs.

EARTH AND SPACE SCIENCE
Tuesdays, January 28-April 28 (no class Feb 18, Mar 24, Apr 7 or Apr 21; 10 weeks)
11:00am-12:15pm
Ages 6-8
We explore from the outer reaches of the universe to the bottom of the oceans in our Earth and Space Science Labs. Through hands-on activities, students investigate processes that affect the Earth’s surface, and learn about what we see up in space. All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    The Solar System – Tuesday, January 28
•    Earth’s Layers – Tuesday, February 4
•    Weathering and Erosion – Tuesday, February 11
•    Rock Types – Tuesday, February 25
•    Earthquakes – Tuesday, March 3
•    Oceans – Tuesday, March 10
•    The Water Cycle – Tuesday, March 17
•    Seasons – Tuesday, March 31
•    The Moon – Tuesday, April 14
•    Stars – Tuesday, April 28

Instructor: Karen Berry, MSc
Location: Science Center (suite 5)
Course fee: $180 OR $20/lab 
10% off sibling discount
REGISTER


MAPPING LANDFORMS
Thursdays, January 30-April 30 (no class Feb 20, Mar 12, or Apr 9; 11 weeks)
9:30am-10:45am
Ages 6-8
Students learn about reading and creating maps, as they learn why landforms are located where they are, practice navigation skills, investigate how scientists create and use maps in their research, and learn about some geographic features of our state. All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    Pangea Puzzle – Thursday, January 30
•    Coordinates – Thursday, February 6
•    Georgia Landforms – Thursday, February 13
•    Relief Maps – Thursday, February 27
•    Georgia Road Maps – Thursday, March 5
•    Orienteering Challenge – Thursday, March 19
•    All About Rivers – Thursday, March 26
•    Ocean Floor Mapping – Thursday, April 2
•    Hydrothermal Vents and Volcanoes – Thursday, April 16
•    Tracking Animals – Thursday, April 23
•    Cartography – Thursday, April 30

Instructor: Katie Sheffield, BSc
Location: Science Center (suite 5)
Course fee: $200 OR $20/lab 
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER

EXPERIMENTS WITH ELEMENTS
Thursdays, January 30-April 30 (no class Feb 20, Mar 12, or Apr 9; 11 weeks)
11:00am-12:15pm
Ages 6-8
Students learn about the periodic table and how it is organized, practice using lab tools to measure volume and mass, and conduct simple chemistry experiments to learn about specific elements and their properties. (Yes, even little kids can learn about the periodic table!) Each week we explore a new element and/or lab technique through hands-on activities. All lab costs are included in registration fee. Course enrollment is limited to 12 students. Descriptions for individual labs can be found here.​

•    The Metric System – Thursday, January 30
•    Density Gradients – Thursday, February 6
•    The Periodic Table – Thursday, February 13
•    Helium Experiment – Thursday, February 27
•    Acids and Bases – Thursday, March 5
•    Salt Crystals – Thursday, March 19
•    The Diaper Experiment – Thursday, March 26
•    Chemical Reactions – Thursday, April 2
•    Iodine Clock – Thursday, April 16
•    Magnetic Elements – Thursday, April 23
•    Non-Newtonian Fluid – Thursday, April 30

Instructor: Katie Sheffield, BSc
Location: Science Center (suite 5)
Course fee: $200 OR $20/lab 
10% off sibling discount available
REGISTER