YOUNG EXPLORERS' LABS

image26

Little kids are natural scientists! Our Young Explorers (ages 3-5) and their adult partner use lab tools to conduct science experiments, explore nature and create science-based art. In addition to introducing our Young Explorers to scientific concepts, we also work on fine motor skills, encourage sensory play, and help develop critical thinking skills through our hands-on experiments and activities. Fun for kids and adults! At least one adult partner must attend.

FEBRUARY - CHEMISTRY
Young Explorers and their adult partners learn about what chemistry is through exciting hands-on experiments. This month we explore the basics of reactions, states of matter and polymers to see how much chemistry can be in our every day lives.

  • States of Matter - Saturday, February 1, 9:30-10:15am
  • States of Matter - Tuesday, February 4, 9:30-10:15am
  • Density - Saturday, February 8, 9:30-10:15am
  • Density - Tuesday, February 11, 9:30-10:15am
  • Polymers - Saturday, February 15, 9:30-10:15am
  • Chemical Reactions - Saturday, February 22, 9:30-10:15am
  • Chemical Reactions - ​Tuesday, February 25, 9:30-10:15am
  • Physical Reactions - Saturday, February 29, 9:30-10:15am

​​​Instructors: Katie Sheffield, BSc (Saturdays) and Tina Oresteen, BSc (Tuesdays)
Location: Science Center (suite 5)​
$12/child/lab, 50% off additional participating sibling

REGISTER


MARCH - WEATHER
We use the change in weather that happens this time of year to explore the science of weather. This month Young Explorers and their adult partners explore winter snowflakes, April showers, why sunscreen is so important, and what temperature has to do with all of these events. 

  • Measuring Temperature - Tuesday, March 3, 9:30-10:15am
  • Measuring Temperature - Saturday, March 7, 9:30-10:15am
  • Snow and Frost - Tuesday, March 10, 9:30-10:15am
  • Snow and Frost - Saturday, March 14, 9:30-10:15am
  • Clouds and Rain - Tuesday, March 17, 9:30-10:15am 
  • Clouds and Rain - Saturday, March 21, 9:30-10:15am
  • Sun and Ultraviolet Light - ​​​Saturday, March 28, 9:30-10:15am

Instructors: Katie Sheffield, BSc (Saturdays) and Tina Oresteen, BSc (Tuesdays)
Location: Science Center (suite 5)​
$12/child/lab, 50% off additional participating sibling

REGISTER