YOUNG EXPLORERS' LABS

image2

Little kids are natural scientists! Our Young Explorers (ages 3-5) and their adult partner use lab tools to conduct science experiments, explore nature and create science-based art. In addition to introducing our Young Explorers to scientific concepts, we also work on fine motor skills, encourage sensory play, and help develop critical thinking skills through our hands-on experiments and activities. Fun for kids and adults! At least one adult partner must attend.

APRIL – VERTEBRATES
This month, Young Explorers and their adult partners learn about the fish, reptiles and amphibians we have at our center. They observe our featured creatures, learn about what they eat, where they live, and their importance in the ecosystem.

  • Aquatic Turtles - Saturday, April 4, 9:30-10:15am
  • Aquatic Turtles - Tuesday, April 14, 9:30-10:15am 
  • Bony Fish - Saturday, April 18, 9:30-10:15am
  • Dart Frogs- Saturday, April 25, 9:30-10:15am
  • Dart Frogs- Tuesday, April 28, 9:30-10:15am 

Instructors: Tonya Shearer, PhD (Saturdays) and Tina Oresteen, BSc (Tuesdays)
Location: Science Center (suite 5)​
$12/child/lab, 50% off additional participating sibling

REGISTER


MAY – INVERTEBRATES
Young Explorers and their adult partners investigate invertebrates. We learn about their bodies and how they are designed to live in their environment, learn what they eat and why they are important in nature. 

  • Brine Shrimp - Saturday, May 2, 9:30-10:15am
  • Brine Shrimp - Tuesday, May 5, 9:30-10:15am 
  • Hermit Crabs - Saturday, May 9, 9:30-10:15am
  • Hermit Crabs- Tuesday, May 12, 9:30-10:15am 
  • Grasshoppers - Saturday, May 16, 9:30-10:15am
  • Earthworms - Saturday, May 30, 9:30-10:15am

Instructors: Tonya Shearer, PhD (Saturdays) and Tina Oresteen, BSc (Tuesdays)
Location: Science Center (suite 5)​
$12/child/lab, 50% off additional participating sibling

REGISTER